Categories

Link PhotoTV to Dropbox

PhotoTV allows you to display photos from your Dropbox account on your Roku TV/device. Supported file extensions are .jpg, .jpeg and .png. To set this up, you will need to do the following:

  1. Create a Dropbox photo source
  2. Link folders under your Dropbox source
First, creating a Dropbox source
  • Navigate to PhotoTV on your Roku device/TV.
  • Photo Sources → Link New Source.
  • Enter a name for your source. Dropbox should be selected as the source type.
  • PhotoTV needs to be authorized to access your Dropbox account. To do that, follow this link . Once you get the Dropbox Link Code, you will need to enter it in the field where PhotoTV asks for it.
  • Once all information is entered, hit the “Test and Link” button.
Second, linking folders under your Dropbox source
  • Once the Dropbox source is created, navigate to (Source Name) → Folders → Link New Folder.
  • Simply browse to the desired folder.
  • Hit the “Test and Link” button.

At any time, you can modify source and folder information, link more sources, folders, etc. Changes to the settings as well as folder content will be applied the next time the slideshow/screensaver runs.

Is it safe?
Data flow has been verified by all service providers: Microsoft, Google, Facebook and Dropbox. How it actually works is very secure:
  • First, the user goes to the website to authorize PhotoTV to access his social/cloud account.
  • Extra long tokens are generated by the service providers and are stored temporarily on our secure database. The tokens self-destroy in a couple of hours.
  • When the 6 character link code is entered on PhotoTV, the extra long tokens are transferred over a secure connection to the Roku device/TV in question and are stored in an encrypted database on the device available only to the app.
  • From that time on, secure connections are established between PhotoTV and the service providers to list folders, download images, etc.
  • When the source is unlinked or the app is uninstalled, all source data are wiped.